The Mill on the Floss(弗洛斯河上的磨坊)

The Mill on the Floss(弗洛斯河上的磨坊)



The novel details the lives of Tom and Maggie Tulliver, a brother and sister growing up on the river Floss near the village of St. Oggs, evidently in the 1820s, after the Napoleonic Wars but prior to the first Reform Bill (1832). The novel spans a period of 10-15 years, from Tom and Maggie’s childhood up until their deaths in a flood on the Floss. The book is fictional autobiography in part, reflecting the disgrace that George Eliot (Mary Ann Evans) herself had while in a lengthy relationship with a married man, George Henry Lewes.

This is a public domain book converted by anonymous volunteers and you may find it for free on the web.This work is respectfully inscribed by the author.



  1. The Mill on the Floss
  2. Part 1Boy and Girl
  3. Chapter1Outside Dorlcote Mill
  4. Chapter2Mr. Tulliver, of Dorlcote Mill, Declares His Resolution aboutTom
  5. Chapter3Mr. Riley Gives His Advice Concerning a School for Tom
  6. Chapter4Tom Is Expected
  7. Chapter5Tom Comes Home
  8. Chapter6The Aunts and Uncles Are Coming
  9. Chapter7Enter the Aunts and Uncles
  10. Chapter8Mr. Tulliver Shows His Weaker Side
  11. Chapter9 ToGarum Firs
  12. Chapter10Maggie Behaves Worse Than She Expected
  13. Chapter11Maggie Tries to Run away from Her Shadow
  14. Chapter12Mr. and Mrs. Glegg at Home
  15. Chapter13Mr. Tulliver Further Entangles the Skein of Life
  16. Part 2School-Time
  17. Chapter1Tom's "First Half"
  18. Chapter2The Christmas Holidays
  19. Chapter3The New Schoolfellow
  20. Chapter4"The Young Idea"
  21. Chapter5Maggie's Second Visit
  22. Chapter6 ALove-Scene
  23. Chapter7The Golden Gates Are Passed
  24. Part 3The Downfall
  25. Chapter1What Had Happened at Home
  26. Chapter2Mrs. Tulliver's Teraphim, or Household Gods
  27. Chapter3The Family Council
  28. Chapter4 AVanishing Gleam
  29. Chapter5Tom Applies His Knife to the Oyster
  30. Chapter6Tending to Refute the Popular Prejudice against the Present of aPocket-Knife
  31. Chapter7How a Hen Takes to Stratagem
  32. Chapter8Daylight on the Wreck
  33. Chapter9 AnItem Added to the Family Register
  34. Part 4The Valley of Humiliation
  35. Chapter1 AVariation of Protestantism Unknown to Bossuet
  36. Chapter2The Torn Nest Is Pierced by the Thorns
  37. Chapter3 AVoice from the Past
  38. Part 5Wheat and Tares
  39. Chapter1 Inthe Red Deeps
  40. Chapter2Aunt Glegg Learns the Breadth of Bob's Thumb
  41. Chapter3The Wavering Balance
  42. Chapter4Another Love-Scene
  43. Chapter5The Cloven Tree
  44. Chapter6The Hard-Won Triumph
  45. Chapter7 ADay of Reckoning
  46. Part 6The Great Temptation
  47. Chapter1 ADuet in Paradise
  48. Chapter2First Impressions
  49. Chapter3Confidential Moments
  50. Chapter4Brother and Sister
  51. Chapter5Showing That Tom Had Opened the Oyster
  52. Chapter6Illustrating the Laws of Attraction
  53. Chapter7Philip Re-enters
  54. Chapter8Wakem in a New Light
  55. Chapter9Charity in Full-Dress
  56. Chapter10The Spell Seems Broken
  57. Chapter11In the Lane
  58. Chapter12 AFamily Party
  59. Chapter13Borne Along by the Tide
  60. Chapter14Waking
  61. Part 7The Final Rescue
  62. Chapter1The Return to the Mill
  63. Chapter2St. Ogg's Passes Judgment
  64. Chapter3Showing That Old Acquaintances Are Capable of Surprising Us
  65. Chapter4Maggie and Lucy
  66. Chapter5The Last Conflict
  67. Part 8Conclusion